Latest News

LMETB former students awarded for outstanding achievement in the LeavingCertificate and Leaving Certificate Applied Examinations 2023

Jan 31, 2024

Director of Schools Fiona Kindlon with LMETB School Leaders and Teachers

Director of Schools Fiona Kindlon with LMETB School Leaders and Teachers

The Annual LMETB Academic Awards Ceremony for outstanding achievement in Leaving Certificate and Leaving Certificate Applied Examinations 2023 took place in the Gateway Hotel, Dundalk on Friday 26 January 2024. Former LMETB students, their parents/guardians, Principals, Deputy Principals, teachers and their extended family and friends were all on hand to celebrate.

Opening the ceremony, Ms. Fiona Kindlon, Director of Schools, LMETB welcomed all and stated that “this awards evening is a very special occasion for everyone present as we are reflecting on, celebrating and acknowledging the successes and achievements of our students and also thanking our school leaders and their teams of teaching staff for the role they have played in assisting, guiding and directing our award winners here this evening to move to the next phase of their education career or to enter into the world of work.” Ms. Kindlon also addressed the award winners stating that “You symbolise everything we aim to do in LMETB around educating people to very high standards. You are role models and ambassadors for LMETB.

Ms. Kindlon also wished the award winners well in their studies with many of those present having now progressed to Degree courses, Post Leaving Certificate Courses and Apprenticeships. Ms. Kindlon acknowledged and congratulated the group on the diverse pathways being followed including Medicine, Veterinary Medicine, Aerospace Engineering, Biotechnology, Modern Languages, Actuarial Maths, Medicinal Chemistry, Engineering, Business and Management, Law, Architectural Technology, Biological Sciences, English Literature, Arts, Economics and Finance and Commerce.

Ms. Kindlon also congratulated the students who have taken up the call to consider apprenticeships and advised she was delighted to see the future Motor Technicians, Plant Fitting Technicians and Machinery Mechanics Technicians among the group of 2023 award winners. PLC courses were also represented on the evening including game design, hairdressing, early  learning and care and special needs assistants among those being pursued by the award winners.

Ms. Kindlon also paid tribute to the school Guidance Counsellors and Programme Co-ordinators who worked tirelessly to organise visiting speakers, visits out, careers fairs and work experience to enable students to make informed choices about career options available to them. Ms. Kindlon also thanked the employers across Louth and Meath for their ongoing commitment to our young people and in particular for supporting schools in the facilitation of work experience/work placement.

Ms. Una Kirk, Principal, Scoil Uí Mhuirí, Dunleer spoke on behalf of the LMETB School Leaders congratulating the students on their success and highlighting the key skills and qualities that they will bring to the jobs of the future. Ms. Kirk also thanked the students present for the contribution they had made to their schools and how they excelled not only in academics but also on the sports field, in voluntary activity and in other co-curricular and
extra – curricular activities. Ms. Una Kirk also reminded the award winners that their local school and the LMETB Head Offices will continue to remain open to them for any support, advice and guidance they needed in the future.

Comperes for the evening were Mr. Cathal Rogers, Deputy Principal, O’ Carolan College, Nobber and Ms. Karen Tobin, Deputy Principal, Beaufort College, Navan. Each student was presented with an engraved piece of crystal and a certificate to mark their achievement.

LMETB Schools represented from Co. Louth included Scoil Uí Mhuirí, O’Fiaich College, Bush Post Primary, Coláiste Chú Chulainn and St. Oliver’s Community College Drogheda.

LMETB Schools represented from Co. Meath included Beaufort College, Navan, Dunshaughlin Community College, Colaiste na hInse, Laytown, Colaiste Pobail, Rathcairn, O’ Carolan College, Nobber, Coláiste na Mí, Navan, Ratoath College, Colaiste Clavin, Longwood, St. Peter’s College, Dunboyne, Coláiste de Lacy, Ashbourne and St. Oliver Post Primary School, Oldcastle.

Further information on LMETB is available on or follow us on X, Facebook at and Instagram.

The Schools Directorate LMETB can be contacted on [email protected].