The Francis Ledwidge Poetry Award

May 14, 2015

LMETB play Slane Castle

April 2015 will go down in history as the first time that LMETB played Slane. Following in the footsteps of other icons like Bruce Springsteen, Madonna, Queen and Bon Jovi, representatives from 18 schools came together at the beautiful Slane Castle to celebrate and receive awards inaugural Francis Ledwidge Poetry Award.

Over all

The is a brand new competition open to all students within the LMETB family. It was developed by CEO Mr Peter Kierans in celebration of our local poet, Francis Ledwidge. LMETB wished to introduce Ledwidges work to students in a fun and progressive way. Having worked closely with the Francis Ledwidge Society in Slane, they lent us their perpetual trophy to use as an overall prize. The competition and event was coordinated by Elma McMahon, Youth Officer for Louth and Meath Education and Training Board.

O Carolan CollegeEileen Mc Dermott from Beaufort College said ‘We write to find out more about ourselves, to find out what we think, what we know, what makes us afraid, what inspires us. That’s why poets like Francis Ledwidge write, that is why it is important to remember the poets that came before us, who came from our towns and villages, who shared our landscape, our history and our language. It is this exploration that allows us to develop perspective, to develop deeper ways of listening and looking at the world around us.   The Ledwidge Poetry Award gives our young people opportunities to write and to share their own work and we were proud to have over 30 students participating’. Overall in total there were over 400 entrants to this prestigious award.

Colaiste de LacySlane Castle was chosen as a venue not only for geographical reasons but because Francis Ledwidge had worked there as a boy. Cllr Wayne Harding, a member of LMETB board worked closely with Elma to realise the dream of Slane Castle as he has worked on many projects with the Mount Charles’.  When we approached Lord Henry Mount Charles, his son Alex was very positive in his response saying ‘I am in favour of supporting education in general and have a fondness for Francis Ledwidge and so admire the two initiatives that you mention’. He and his staff worked closely with LMETB to ensure that the day was one the students and staff would never forget.

Dunshaughlin Community CollegeOn the day students from Scoil Ui Mhuiri, Dunleer, Beaufort College Navan, Dunshaughlin Community College, O Fiaich College Dundalk, St Oliver Post Primary Oldcastle, O Carolan College Nobber,  Colaiste Lu Dun Dealgan, Colaiste na hinse, Colaiste Chu Chullainn Dundalk, Colaiste na Mi Navan, Colaiste de Lacy Ashbourne and St Fintinas Longwood collected over 60 awards.

Colaiste na Mi

The Overall awards were won by

  • Meighéan ni Choncubhair – Bush Post Primary
  • Shaneela Khan – O Fiaich College
  • Shauna Callaghan – St Fintinas Post Primary, Longwood
  • Jimal Kelly – Beaufort College
  • Jack Rogers (best overall) – Scoil Ui Mhuiri
  • Oisin Tuite VandeVelde – Dunshaughlin Community College
  • Luke Malone –St Oliver Post Primary Oldcastle


 beaufort college St Oliver Post Primary Oldcastle



Scoil ui Mhuiri Minister Damian English, Jack Rogers, Karla Crilly, Joshua Kirwim, Peter Kierans CEO

O Carolan College – Minister Damian English, Aishling Wheeler Dempser, Cllr Oliver Tully

Overall – Oisin Tuite VandeVelde, Jack Rogers, Minister Damian Engligh, Shauna Callaghan, Shaneela Khan, Luke Malone, Chairperson Nick Killian, Oliver Tully

Over all  – Oliver Tully, Jack Rogers, Minister Damian Engligh, Rosemary Yore, Nick Killian

Colaiste na Mi – Iwin Agabo, Angel Dike, Michael Forlarin, Aine Meade, Peter Kierans

Colaiste Lu – Minister Damian English. Julios Odeyemi, Yamada Brennan, Ciaron Smith, Oliver Tully

Colaiste De Lacy, Minister Engligh, Noelle Sorahan, Jiawen Mc Cabe, Gillian Webb, Karl Cannon

Beaufort College – Minister Damian English, Maire ni Bhroite, Jimal Kelly, Stephen Tallon,Lee Harding, Promise Mawoyeka, Peter Kierans

Colaiste Chu Chullainn – Minister Damian Engligh, Maire Ni Bhroite, Josh Chaalloner, Conal Doyle, Gareth Malloy, Peter Kierans

Dunshaughlin Community College Sarah Bateman, Liam Durkin, Piroska Radics, Oisin Tuite Vandavelde, Emma Harte, James Reynolds Nick Killian

St Olivers Post Primary Minister Damian English. Emily Gallagher, Sarah Rose Mc Quillan, Nathan Grealish, Luke Malone, Sean Kelly, Vaida Kasparaviciute,

O Fiaich College – Minister Damian English, Maire ni Bhroite, Shaneela Khan, Gavin Shields, Rujiraporn Ueasukpakdee.

Go back